Sign In Forgot Password

Thinking About Israel/Palestine 7:00 Session

Upcoming Sessions

1. Tuesday, March 5, 2019 • 28 Adar I 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

2. Tuesday, March 12, 2019 • 5 Adar II 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

3. Tuesday, March 19, 2019 • 12 Adar II 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

4. Tuesday, April 2, 2019 • 26 Adar II 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

5. Tuesday, April 9, 2019 • 4 Nisan 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

6. Tuesday, April 16, 2019 • 11 Nisan 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

7. Tuesday, April 23, 2019 • 18 Nisan 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

8. Tuesday, April 30, 2019 • 25 Nisan 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

9. Tuesday, May 7, 2019 • 2 Iyyar 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

10. Tuesday, May 14, 2019 • 9 Iyyar 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Why did Eastern European Jewry come to embrace Zionism in the late 1800s? Was it inevitable that the revival of a Jewish national community in Eretz Yisrael (Land of Israel) would entail confrontation with the existing Palestinian Arab community and repeated wars with its Arab neighbors? How did a movement among a minority of Jews become the normative outlook for most Jews in the late 1900s? Why haven’t efforts to resolve the conflict since the 1979 Israeli-Egyptian Peace Treaty succeeded? We will address these and other questions without presuming to offer definitive answers. All points of view are welcome and will be respected. Each session involves a brief presentation and discussion of 50 pages of required reading per week. Maximum: 20 students. Taught by Prof. Joel Beinin.

Registration will open at noon on Jan. 15. The classes are intended only for Havurah members, on a first-come-first-served basis. To accommodate the significant number of people who have expressed an interest in the class, Prof. Beinin has generously offered to teach two sessions, one that begins at 4:30 pm and another that begins at 7:00 pm.

Register

Login

or

Enter Your details

Name
Address
Email
Phone
Notes
Total $
 
Share Print Save To My Calendar
Mon, January 21 2019 15 Shevat 5779